

## Agenda

# NSW Mine Safety Advisory Council

### Meeting details

Meeting number: 3 for 2024

Location: Mining & Energy Union, Level 12, Nymboida House, 215 Clarence Street Sydney

Date/time: Monday 9 September 2024 – 9.00am

Chairperson: Hon. George Souris AM

### Agenda items

Paper	Agenda item	Timing			
Introdu	Introduction				
1	Chair's report	9:00-9:05			
2	Declaration of interests	9:05-9:10			
3	Acceptance of previous minutes and actions	9:10-9.15			
4	Correspondence	9.15-9.20			
Business arising					
5	Review of the coal worker health surveillance scheme	9.20-9.35			
6	Discussion on MSAC reporting culture survey (Stage 2)	9.35-9.50			
7	Discussion on scope of MSAC musculoskeletal disorders project	9.50-10.10			
8	MSAC Annual Report for 2023/24	10.10-10.20			
9	Inquiry into impacts of mining – Recommendation 8 Extending ISHRs to metalliferous mine sites	10.20-10.35			
10	Change from workplace exposure standards to workplace exposure levels	10.35-10.45			

RDOC24/74685

Paper	Agenda item	Timing			
Standi	Standing agenda items				
11	Member updates	10.45-11.00			
12	National Dust Disease Task Force	11.00-11.10			
13	Legislative framework update	11.10-11.20			
14	NSW Resources Regulator quarterly report	11.20-11.30			
15	Mine safety levy report	11.30-11.40			
16	Progress of MSAC's Strategic plan to 2026	11.40-11.45			
Other business					
17	Meeting dates	11.45-11.50			
18	Additional business	11.50-12.00			
	Meeting close	12.00			

# Meeting attendees

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Chairperson	Hon. George Souris Independent
Members	Ron Cowdrey  Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales Branch
	lan Cribb NSW Minerals Council (Coal)
	James Collings Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	Peter Day  NSW Resources Regulator, Department of Primary Industries and Regional  Development
	Robin Williams Mining and Energy Union
	Kylie Harris NSW Minerals Council (Metalliferous)

RDOC24/74685 2

Title	Name/Organisation/Role
Delegate	Bob Timbs (delegate for Graeme Osborne)
	Mining and Energy Union
Secretary	Tony Linnane  NSW Resources, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
Secretariat support	Vanessa Cleary, Javier Garcia  NSW Resources, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
Observers	Georgina Beattie  Deputy Secretary, NSW Resources, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
	Lucy Flemming Coal Services
	James Barben NSW Minerals Council
	Jason Kuchel Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia
	<b>Dwaine Jones</b> NSW Resources Regulator, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development

Apologies	
Members	Graeme Osborne
	Mining and Energy Union

RDOC24/74685 3